Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.   Kentucky Arts Council

Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet
Kentucky Arts Council

Tom Musgrave

Governor’s Awards in the Arts Livestreamed for the First Time

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Jan. 11, 2018) — Presentation of the Governor’s Awards in the Arts will be livestreamed this year for the first time. The ceremony will be held Feb. 2 from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. EST at the Executive Mansion.

A link to view the livestream of the awards’ presentation will be available on Governor Bevin’s official Facebook page on Feb. 2.

The Governor’s Awards in the Arts ceremony, coordinated by the Kentucky Arts Council in cooperation with the Governor’s Office, is an invitation-only event.

The Governor’s Awards in the Arts recipients include:

  • Milner Award – Ruthie Bale, Barren County
  • Artist Award – Roger Cooper, Lewis County
  • Business Award – Kroger-Louisville Division, Jefferson County
  • Community Arts Award – Norton Center for the Arts, Boyle County
  • Education Award – RiverPark Center, Daviess County
  • Folk Heritage Award – Jennifer Zurick, Madison County
  • Government Award – Lexington Parks & Recreation, Fayette County
  • Media Award – Western Kentucky University Mountain Workshops, Warren County
  • National Award – jahi chikwendiu, native of Fayette County
  • Emerging Artist – Jordan Smith, native of Harlan County
  • Youth Artist – Adrian Partridge, Fayette County

Nominations from the public for the Governor’s Awards in the Arts are accepted annually by the Kentucky Arts Council, which recommends honorees to the Governor.

- ### -


Follow us! Like us! View us! Join the conversation! Instagram Pinterest

The Kentucky Arts Council, the state arts agency, fosters environments for Kentuckians to value, participate in and benefit from the arts. Kentucky Arts Council funding is provided by the Kentucky General Assembly and the National Endowment for the Arts.