Showcasing the Arts


Kentucky Writers' Day Schedule


Monday, May 1, 2017

Old State Capitol
300 West Broadway St.


(all times Eastern)

9:30 a.m.

Music and Mingling

10 a.m.

Kentucky Writers’ Day Ceremony
and Poet Laureate Induction

The Kentucky Arts Council presents Kentucky Writers’ Day, a celebration of Kentucky’s literary arts. The induction ceremony of 2017—2018 gubernatorial appointed Kentucky Poet Laureate, Frederick Smock, will include a festive program that incorporates a variety of literary arts presentations.

11 a.m.

Public reception celebrating Kentucky writers and literary excellence


The Kentucky poet laureate promotes the literary arts in Kentucky through readings of his work at community and educational events, meetings, seminars and conferences across the state. Since 1995, the governor has appointed the position in consultation with the arts council. Smock succeeds poet laureate George Ella Lyon, who was appointed in 2015. Smock will serve through the end of 2018.


Page last updated: April 24, 2017
Report a broken link.