Thursday, April 24, 2014
Kentucky State Capitol
Frankfort, Ky.

(all times Eastern)

10 a.m.

Kentucky Writers’ Day Ceremony, Capitol Rotunda
The Kentucky Arts Council presents Kentucky Writers’ Day 2014. The celebration will include readings by Kentucky Poet Laureate Frank X Walker and past poets laureate Maureen Morehead, Gurney Norman, Jane Gentry Vance, Sena Jeter Naslund, Joe Survant and Richard Taylor.

Aline Dolinh, National Student Poet representing the Southeast Region, will also read. The National Student Poets program is an initiative of the President's Committee on the Arts and the Humanities, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, in coordination with the Library of Congress and the U.S. Department of Education.

11 a.m.

Public Reception, Capitol Mezzanine
All Kentuckians are invited to a reception honoring all Kentucky writers.

Kentucky Writers’ Day celebrates the Commonwealth’s strong literary tradition and the birthday of Kentucky native Robert Penn Warren, the first poet laureate of the United States and winner of three Pulitzer Prizes.

Kentucky Writers’ Day activities are free and open to the public.



Kentucky Arts Council